How To Follow Through On Your New Year’s Resolution To Get Organized

Have you made New Year’s resolutions for the new year? Is getting organized at the top of the list?  Top New Year’s resolutions for many include: losing weight, quitting a bad habit, or finally getting organized once and for all. As the year draws to a close, something about starting a new year brings longings of a fresh start, a clean slate, and a desire to remove accumulated clutter both physical and mental. So many see it as a time to make proclamations for the New Year and envision how things will be different. Some swear by the New Year’s resolution while others run from it, knowing that chances are, the resolution will be abandoned within weeks.

For me, a resolution is an empty commitment made simply because it is a new year and it is something I wish I could do. I don’t make the life-changing annual resolutions. Instead, I plan small goals for myself that will move me closer to achieving a bigger goal. More importantly, I don’t create these goals a the start of a new year.

Let’s face it, we all have bad habits or things we’d like to change. The best way to deal with them is head-on and regularly, throughout the year. Why limit yourself to just one time per year to make changes? And why make just one change? I come up with new goals for myself regularly. An ongoing goal I set for myself is to keep my spaces uncluttered. I know that doing this helps me in all other areas of my life. Cluttered spaces can lead to a cluttered mind!

Clutter can build up quickly if it is allowed to. I describe clutter as a leaky pipe. At first, it is not noticeable and the small amount of water is manageable. But if that leak is left unattended, it will soon overtake the area and the space can no longer serve its purpose until it is dealt with. If your spaces have been overtaken by clutter, take the time each day to stop the leaking so that you can begin to feel in control of your space.

I encourage you to rethink how you go about making New Year’s resolutions. This year, prepare a few step by step, deliberate, manageable goals for yourself to accomplish throughout the year. pexels-photo-58457If you are not currently in control of clutter, think about how you can get organized. Evaluate each room in your home. How is the space used? How you would like it to be used? Are there too many items in the space? How about items that should really be in a different room? Think about how you would like your space to look and be used. Look at pictures, write down ideas, and dream a little to get started. In upcoming posts I will help you move forward with this goal by providing actionable organizing tips and steps for success.

Learn more about Harmony Organizing Services at: www.harmonyorganizing.com 

Author: Harmony Organizing Services

Hi! My name is Debbie Durrance. I am a Professional Organizer and Blogger from Florida. I love helping women take control of their homes so they can spend more quality time with their family. Getting organized can be absolutely life changing!

1 thought on “How To Follow Through On Your New Year’s Resolution To Get Organized”

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.

    I want to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

